U.S. Supreme Court backs Walmart


http://www.nytimes.com/2011/06/21/business/21bizcourt.html?nl=todaysheadlines&emc=tha2

This is the most ideological supreme court I have recollection of. This is probably a consequence of the polarization of the country due to the two party-monopoly which has held for so long and with such negative consequences in almost every aspect. The United States is not the democratic and republican parties but they behave as if the personified the nation.

Nonetheless, I see a bright side in this specific ruling: I believe, as the reactionary quintet of the SC seems to be saying, that labor issues should be resolved at the workplace and not in the courts. And since there is a huge disproportion of power between Walmart and its employees, I will support the unionization of Walmart employees in New Jersey, as I will push for reducing the corporate income tax (to 0) and at least doubling up the state minimum wage.

 

