Newark schools begin to use Facebook Zuckerberg’s gift


NJ Spotlight | Newark Schools Start to Put $100 Million Gift to Work.

I am glad to read that both school days and year are to be lengthened, as I have proposed in my education program. There is no mention of the class period. It does not make much sense to lengthen the day to fit in more classes. However, by lengthening the class period, that increases the proportion of time dedicated to teaching (versus transfers, attendance -taking, etc.) and it is really the principal logical purpose of stretching the school day.

A slightly longer class is a more productive class. A class is only productive after students’ attention sets in.

I have only heard positive comments of Ms. Anderson, the new superintendent. I believe that a unified New Jersey Board of Education should be made up of the best local superintendents in New Jersey today.

